

GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies Tel : 868 225-4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 – 225-5777 Email: info@energy.gov.tt

Media Release

20th November, 2020

PRESIDENCY OF THE 50TH OLADE MEETING OF MINISTERS 2020 HELD BY ENERGY MINISTER, SENATOR THE HONOURABLE, FRANKLIN KHAN

Senator the Honourable, Franklin Khan Minister of Energy and Energy Industries assumed Presidency at the 50th Latin American Energy Organization (OLADE) Meeting of Ministers which took place today (November 19th 2020) via webinar.

The Meeting of Ministers of OLADE is viewed as the foremost gathering of Energy Ministers of Latin America and the Caribbean. Minister Khan presided over the Ministerial Political Dialogue during which, topics such as the energy sector as the engine of post-pandemic economic recovery and the role of renewable energy in the energy matrix of member countries were discussed. The Ministerial Meeting also received presentations on the Energy Outlook from the International Energy Agency(IEA) and the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA).

Trinidad and Tobago also participated in the 54th Council of Experts meeting between November 16- 18th, 2020 as part of OLADE's 5th Energy Week which was chaired by Ms. Penelope Bradshaw-Niles, Acting Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries.

The Latin American Energy Organisation (OLADE) came into existence with the signing of the Lima Agreement in 1973. Trinidad and Tobago has been a member of the Organisation since the inception and this country plays a leading role in the energy development and policy direction of the "Regional Grouping" particularly with respect to matters involving the Caribbean sub-group. Through OLADE, Trinidad and Tobago benefits from various training programmes and has access to numerous journals and publications and is privy to energy related data sets.

For more information, please contact Senior Communications Officer Choy Felix at <u>cfelix@energy.gov.tt</u> or via cell at 1-868-784-2469



From Left to right

- Penelope Bradshaw-Niles, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries
- Senator Franklin Khan, The Honourable Minister of Energy and Energy Industries
- Timmy Baksh, Director Energy, Research and Planning Division