

GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain The

Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies Tel : 868 225- 4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 – 225-5777 Email: <u>info@energy.gov.tt</u>



April 21th 2022

Media Release

MINISTER YOUNG MEETS WITH PROPOSED COMMISSIONERS TO THE COMMISSION OF ENQUIRY OF THE PARIA TRAGEDY

Today, Minister of Energy and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Stuart R. Young, M.P, met with Justice Dennis Morrison QC, Mr. Gregory Wilson, Mr. Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj SC, Mr. Ronnie Bissessar and Ms. Vijaya Maharaj to facilitate an introductory meeting between the proposed Commissioners and Counsel to the Commission of Enquiry into the circumstances which lead to the tragic incident which occurred on Friday 25 February, 2022. The incident, which led to the deaths of the four employees of LMCS Limited occurred at facilities owned by Paria Fuel Trading Company Limited located at No. 36 Sealine Riser on Berth No 6.

It is expected that Mr. Justice Morrison QC and Mr. Wilson will receive their instruments of appointment as Commissioners from Her Excellency the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on Friday 22 April, 2022.



From left to right – Ms. Sandra Fraser Permanent Secretary (Ag), Mr. Gregory Wilson, Justice Dennis Morrison QC, the Honourable Minister of Energy and Energy Industries Stuart R. Young, MP, Mr. Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, Mr. Ronnie Bissessar and Ms. Vijaya Maharaj.