

GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES

Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain
The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies

Tel: 868 225-4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 - 225-5777 Email: info@energy.gov.tt

Media Release



11th May 2022

MINISTER YOUNG MEETS WITH TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO SCRAP IRON DEALERS ASSOCIATION

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, The Honourable Stuart R. Young, MP along with Permanent Secretary (Ag.), Sandra Fraser and Director of DPMD, Ayasha Nickie met with Trinidad and Tobago Scrap Iron Dealers Association (TTSIDA) President, Allan Ferguson and his team; which included TTSIDA Secretary, Ms. Willetta Wilson, Consultant, Mrs. Chandra Kowlessar, Accountant and Start-up Specialist, Yvonne Mc Clean Roberts, Environmental Consultant, Mr. Kenneth Roach and Engineer, Mr. Peter Fletcher, at the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries, Head-Office, today, Wednesday 11th May, 2022.

The TTSIDA team presented on an initiative that they wish to pursue as an area of possible growth of their industry which they submitted will have benefits for Trinidad and Tobago.

The parties also discussed other matters related to the scrap iron industry including its regulation, benefits and operations.

Minister Young encouraged the TTSIDA team and commended them on their presentation. The parties agreed to continue exchanging pertinent information and thanked each other for the opportunity to have met.

END



Photo: The Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, The Honourable Stuart R. Young, MP, with Trinidad and Tobago Scrap Iron Dealers Association President, Mr. Allan Ferguson.



Photo: from left to right, Environmental Consultant, Mr. Kenneth Roach; TTSIDA Secretary, Ms. Willetta Wilson; The Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, The Honourable Stuart R. Young, MP, TTSIDA President, Mr. Allan Ferguson; Consultant, Mrs. Chandra Kowlessar; Engineer, Mr. Peter Fletcher and Accountant and Start-up Specialist, Yvonne Mc Clean Roberts.