

## GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES

Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies

Tel: 868 225-4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 - 225-5777 Email: info@energy.gov.tt



Media Release

July 26th 2022

## MINISTER YOUNG MEETS WITH EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, BP GROUP

The Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Stuart R. Young, M.P., along with Permanent Secretary Penelope Bradshaw-Niles and Permanent Secretary (Ag) Sandra Fraser, met with Ms. Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, Executive Vice President, Gas and Low Carbon, BP Group, who was accompanied by bpTT Executives, Ms. Claire Fitzpatrick, President and Ms. Giselle Thompson, Vice President, Corporate Operations and Head of Communications and Advocacy, at the Ministry's head office today, Tuesday 26th July 2022.

Ms. Dotzenrath, who heads BP's global gas and low carbon portfolio, joined the company on 1st March 2022, to help bpTT's transformation into an integrated energy company by building a world-leading business in low carbon by integrating natural gas, renewables, hydrogen and biofuels. She has worked in the energy industry for over twenty-five years and is a long-time advocate of the decarbonization of energy.

Ms Dotzenrath indicated the importance of the Trinidad and Tobago asset to BP and a commitment to the sustainability of the natural gas business. Various energy related matters, including opportunities for investment within the next decade through the exploration of renewables, hydrogen and Carbon Capture Utilization and Storage (CCUS) were discussed.

Minister Young expressed his enthusiasm in engaging bpTT in the transition towards the decarbonization of the industry. He noted that the government is anxious to move forward with project plans already on stream in bpTT's work programme and looks forward to the continued strengthening of the relationship with bpTT as they embark on this new journey.



**From left to right** Permanent Secretary Penelope Bradshaw-Niles, Ms. Claire Fitzpatrick, President bpTT, the Honourable Minister of Energy and Energy Industries Stuart R. Young, MP, Ms. Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, Executive Vice President, Gas and Low Carbon and Ms. Giselle Thompson, Vice President Corporate Operations and Head of Communications and Advocacy,

## -End-