

GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES

Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain
The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies
Tel: 868 225-4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 – 225-5777 Email: info@energy.gov.tt

Media Release



9th February 2024

MEEI CONTINUES TO PROVIDE TECHNICAL SUPPORT TO TEMA

Last night the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries dispatched a team of Petroleum Inspectors from its Petroleum Operations Management Division (POMD) to Tobago under the leadership of Mr Marc Rudder, Chief Technical Officer at the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries, to assist the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) and Tobago Emergency Management Authority (TEMA) with respect to containing and managing the oil spill incident in Tobago.

Additionally, today, the Honourable Stuart R. Young, MP, Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister and Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan, Minister of Works and Transport met with the Honourable Farley Augustine, Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) in Scarborough, Tobago.

Both Ministers Young and Sinanan offered continued support and expertise from their Ministries to the THA and TEMA. The MEEI personnel were also present and have been participating in and providing expertise in the response exercise which is under way.

Minister Young has approved for Heritage Petroleum Company Ltd. to send resources to Tobago including personnel and equipment, to assist in the response to this ongoing situation. This follows on the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries initially requesting assistance from Woodside Energy and their approval of the use of a private service contractor (Kaizen Environmental Services Trinidad Ltd) that Woodside Energy had in Tobago with the expertise to deal with containment and clean-up operations.

Further Minister Young has been in contact with the leadership of both bpTT and Shell Trinidad both of whom have offered to provide assistance through the MEEI in dealing with the situation.

The MEEI will continue providing support and assistance in this developing matter.

(See photo below)



From left to right: Trevor James, Tobago House of Assembly Secretary of Infrastructure, Quarries and Urban Development; Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan, Minister of Works and Transport; The Honourable Stuart R. Young, MP, Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister and the Honourable Farley Augustine, Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly.