For Investors

Latin American Energy Organization (OLADE)

La Organizacion Lationamericana de Energia (OLADE) or the Latin American Energy Organization, was established in 1973 to develop a more equitable economic relationship between developed countries and the developing countries of Latin American and the Caribbean. The organization is committed to the defense of natural resources in the Region, technical cooperation on policies for sustainable and comprehensive development and measures to address issues arising in the energy sector such as market prices, supply demand, electricity generation, energy efficiency, climate change and data management.

The organization’s structure consists of:

Meeting of Ministers – the highest governing body which comprises Ministers of Energy or their equivalent of member countries. Its main purpose is to formulate the general policy of the organization in line with the Lima Agreement.

Council of Experts – the advisory body of the Meeting of Ministers which acts as the permanent preparatory commission for the Minister’s meeting. It reviews proposals of the Directive Committee, the Permanent Secretariat and Member countries and provides advice on the activities of OLADE that informs ministerial decision making.

Directive Committee (CODI) – monitors the execution of the Triennial Plan of the Permanent Secretariat, the Annual operative plan and other function delegated by the Meeting of Ministers. It is the directive, monitoring, analysis and assessment body of OLADE’s programmes, policies and strategies.

Permanent Secretariat – The executive secretary is responsible for fulfilling the functions of the Permanent Secretariat in accordance with the policies established by ministerial decisions, and directs the implementation of programmes and projects.

There are currently 27 member countries:

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Caribbean: Barbados, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago and Suriname.

Central America and Mexico: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua and Panama.

Participant Country: Algeria